There are only a handful of countries you will be able to go to on holiday after lockdown without having to quarantine.


Holidays are nothing more than a pipe dream right now. Travelling abroad for non-essential reasons is illegal in England and Wales, and strongly advised against in Scotland and Northern Ireland.

However, after England’s lockdown ends on 2nd December the country is reverting to a strengthened version of the tiered system of restrictions. International travel will be allowed in all tiers – but only to an approved list of countries.

The Foreign and Commonwealth Office is advising against nonessential travel to all but a handful of nations, with which the UK has travel corridors. But there is an even smaller list of countries where you will not have to quarantine on either end.

Where can I travel without having to quarantine?

These are the countries you can travel to after lockdown without having to quarantine on either end, along with their entry requirements:

Chile (after 7th December) (pictured)

At the border you will need to present a negative PCT test, taken less than 72 hours before boarding, a declaration form (Pasaporte Sanitario), completed upon entry and health or travel insurance that covers Covid-related medical care during your visit.


No quarantine unless you are entering from outside the EU, UK or a select list of other nations. British nationals can enter Spain from Gibraltar without having to self-isolate.

Greek islands (Corfu, Crete, Kos, Rhodes, and Zakynthos)

You must complete an online Passenger Locator Form (PLF) at least 24 hours before your arrival in Greece. You will then receive a QR code, which you must scan upon arrival. Authorities may also require you to take a coronavirus test.


All tourists and short term visitors must present a negative PCR test, issued no more than 96 hours prior to departure, upon arrival. You must also fill in a Traveller Health Declaration form 24 hours before departure to the Maldives.

Portuguese islands (Madeira and the Azores)

You need to complete an online passenger locator card before you arrive in Portugal.

St Barthelemy

All travellers over the age of 11 must take a test within 72 hours before departure for St Barthelemy. Travellers must also provide a self-certified document affirming that they have no Covid symptoms and that to their knowledge they have not been in contact with any person confirmed positive within the last 14 days.

Turks and Caicos

Anyone arriving to the Turks and Caicos islands is required to obtain pre-travel authorisation via the Turks and Caicos islands Assured Portal. This requires evidence of a negative Covid-19 test from a reputable facility taken less than five days prior to arrival, proof of health/travel insurance with Covid-19 cover and a completed health screening questionnaire.

United Arab Emirates

Visit and tourist visas are currently being issued by the Dubai authorities only. Tourists and visitors cannot travel to Abu Dhabi by air. Travellers coming from the UK to Dubai have the option to either present a negative PCR test before departure, which is valid for 96 hours from the date of the test, or to take a test on arrival at Dubai airport.

Which countries are on the UK’s travel corridor list?

Anyone entering the UK from the following countries does not have to self-isolate for 14 days upon arrival:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Azores.

Bahrain, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire/St Eustatius/Saba, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei.

Bahrain, Barbados, Bermuda, Bonaire/St Eustatius/Saba, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei.



Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland.

Gibraltar, Greek islands: Corfu, Crete, Kos, Rhodes, Zakynthos, Greenland, Grenada.

Hong Kong.

Iceland, Ireland, The Isle of Man, Israel.


Laos, Latvia.

Macao (Macau), Madeira, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat.

Namibia, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Northern Mariana Islands, Norway.

Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands.



Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, Sri Lanka, St Barthélemy, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Vincent and the Grenadines.

Taiwan, Thailand, Turks and Caicos Islands.

United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, US Virgin Islands.


(Article source: Inews)

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This